Entomology Staff

Dr. Daniel Otte

Curator and Chair
otte@ansp.org

Dr. Daniel Otte specializes in the taxonomy, systematics, biogeography, and behavior of worldwide Orthoptera (grasshoppers and crickets), especially for Africa, the South Pacific, Australia and the U.S.

Dr. Jon Gelhaus

Curator
gelhaus@ansp.org

Dr. Jon Gelhaus, Curator of Entomology, has expertise in the systematics, biogeography and ecology of worldwide Tipuloidea (crane flies) and the historical biogeography of western North America, particularly desert regions. He is also the lead PI for the Mongolian Aquatic Insect Survey.

Dr. Alain Maasri

Posdoctoral Scientist
maasri@ansp.org

Dr. Maasri, who has an interest in the ecology of aquatic insect and their potential as environmental biomonitors, is participating in the Mongolian Aquatic Insect Survey.

Jason Weintraub

Collection Manager
215-299-1189
weintraub@ansp.org

Jason is responsible for care and maintenance of the Entomology Collection. He specializes in systematics and evolution of the Lepidoptera, particularly moths in the families Callidulidae and Geometridae. Ongoing research interests include studies of lepidopteran phylogeography, revisionary taxonomy, and conservation biology, as well as the evolutionary ecology of fern-feeding moths.

Jason has extensive entomological field experience throughout North America, as well as parts of the Caribbean, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia. Current field work has focused on enhancing the Academy's collection of Southeast Asian moths.

Greg Cowper

Curatorial Assistant
215-299-1189
cowper@ansp.org

Mr. Cowper is interested in Hemiptera.

Steve Mason

Curatorial Assistant
215-299-3781
mason@ansp.org

Mr. Mason is interested in the biogeography of diurnal Lepidoptera, specifically in the New Jersey Pine Barrens.

Dr. Robert T. Allen

Research Fellow

Dr. Allen is interested in the systematics of Apterygota.